Dec 22, 2014 04:08am
Opinion
  • 'The Hunger Games' works well on the big screen

    Date: 
    December 5, 2013 - 6:21pm

    The 75th annual Hunger Games!

  • Doctor Who: Who cares?

    Date: 
    December 5, 2013 - 6:15pm

    On the surface, it’s just a cheesy show about a time traveling alien who wears strange clothes and changes his face every few years. But there’s a lot more to Doctor Who than meets the eye.

  • REVIEW: Thor: The Dark World

    Date: 
    December 2, 2013 - 1:41pm

    I went to the “midnight” premiere of Thor: The Dark World. There weren’t a whole lot of people in the theater, making it feel like I was watching a movie that had been out for a week. Despite the amount of people watching the movie with me, it was definitely worth going, especially since the movie was at 8:00 and not midnight.

  • FOOD: Probing the Panda's Express

    Date: 
    November 12, 2013 - 2:07pm

    Being an international student, one of the biggest challenges I found is not learning the language, but being away from my mom’s Chinese home cooking.

  • FOOD: Buttered burger bombs

    Date: 
    November 12, 2013 - 1:42pm

    Recently I tried Jack in the Box’s new Munchie Meal. Before I continue with the review, I have to be clear that I am not a picky eater. I noticed America had very little good food before I came here to study. Words such as ‘fast food’ and ‘obesity’ have typically been representative of America.

  • What is the "A" for?

    Date: 
    November 12, 2013 - 10:48am

    Thanks to a strongly-worded email sent to the right people, I was able to bring forth a change to a problem that most people didn’t realize existed.

    The LGBTQA/Safe Zone information page on EvCC’s website is informative; it goes through all the essentials on what the club is about, which is good. That’s what we want in a club description page.

  • The United States of double plus ungood

    Date: 
    November 12, 2013 - 10:45am

    Yet another study has been published hinting that Americans are some of the most illiterate, uncritically minded boobs in the developed world. The exact wording was “technology rich environment”, meaning even with help of microprocessors, we’re still pretty dumb.

  • Letter to the Editor Re: Cussing

    Date: 
    November 11, 2013 - 11:05am
    Good morning,
     
  • Krokodil and the myth of drug “culture”

    Date: 
    October 11, 2013 - 12:22pm

    A recreational drug shouldn’t consume your flesh. Unfortunately, the world is a nasty place. 

  • PlayStation Four, Xbox One: Does it matter?

    Date: 
    October 11, 2013 - 12:15pm

    As the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One approach their release date, the question ultimately comes down to this: “Does it matter?”

  • An Organization to make the world better

    Date: 
    June 9, 2013 - 6:54pm

    “She is not a slave. She is beautiful.”

    A slogan of “Compassion First”, a non-profit organization working with the victims of child sex trafficking in Indonesia, has showed its passion, devotion and dedication for the community by its action.

  • Personality trumps talent at music shows

    Date: 
    June 9, 2013 - 4:46pm

    There’s something that’s just so personal to me about live music.

  • CCID Program closes doors

    Date: 
    June 9, 2013 - 4:41pm

    Students at the Chinese Festival, left to right: Deisha Tamar, Ali Salmande, Mathieu Jamal Coignieres, Jesse Keppen, Anh Nguyen, Aline Sertori, Xinxin Zhang, Ratna Keys, Mieshkah Fortuin, Tom Lai, Sumit Karn and Adnan Syed.
  • Letter from the incoming Editor-in-Chief

    Date: 
    June 9, 2013 - 4:34pm

    The changing of the guard at any establishment, especially a newspaper, is a reaction usually riddled with fraught.

  • Letter from the outgoing Editor-in-Chief

    Date: 
    June 9, 2013 - 4:30pm

    With spring quarter coming to an end, I will be saying goodbye to my position as editor-in-chief of The Clipper, a position I have proudly held for the last year.

  • Saying goodbye: the end of an era

    Date: 
    June 9, 2013 - 4:20pm

    Members of The Clipper Staff at Pierce College in Lakewood for the 2013 WCCJA conference/ Photo courtesy of Sumit Karn
  • Cut English classes pose an issue for ESL students

    Date: 
    May 15, 2013 - 1:19pm

    Starting in January, the English Department at EvCC  eliminated English 90 and English 92 from its curriculum.

    Now that English 97 is the basic English class, it may be too hard for students whose first language is not English. Not because of the content of the course, but because the students may have too low of language skills to succeed.

  • Letter to the editor from Bob Wright

    Date: 
    May 15, 2013 - 1:14pm

    Dear Clipper,

    Thank you for your April 19 article about an EvCC student who called police after spotting suspicious activity in a college parking lot. Everyone at EvCC’s Campus Safety, Security and Emergency Management Office is grateful for students who help us keep EvCC safe by reporting crimes and watching out for each other.

  • Liv & Love: Love gloves

    Date: 
    May 15, 2013 - 1:04pm

    Sex is all fine and dandy, but sex without knowledge and awareness is a problem.

  • Liv & Love

    Date: 
    April 19, 2013 - 1:41pm

    You and I, dear reader, are sexual creatures. We, as humans, crave companionship. No matter your religious preferences, sexual orientation, cultural background or what have you, more likely than not, you have the instinct of desire. It’s one of the great, overarching themes of life that gives us all common ground.

    So let’s talk about it.

Share the Clipper

Search

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Email us: Follow us: facebook icon  

Most Recent

  • Lunar New Year

    Date: 
    January 31, 2014 - 10:14pm

    Jan. 31 2014 is the Lunar New Year, in other words, the Chinese New Year. Here are some tips for you to use while enjoying your Lunar New Year.

    Traditions

    Greeting:

  • The hard working role model

    Date: 
    January 31, 2014 - 7:30am

    There has been a large pool of talented and skilled athletes this year in EvCC athletics. On the men’s basketball team, point guard David Ware has been a standout player for the Trojans this season.

  • 'Fauna Shade' make 'Sound Off!'

    Date: 
    January 31, 2014 - 7:29am

    So I’m carrying a bass drum up a wheelchair ramp in a dingy little venue in downtown Everett. I have no idea where I’m going or what I’m doing. Needless to say, I’ve never played at a paying concert before and I’m incredibly nervous. Looking over my shoulder, I notice a familiar face. To my surprise, I see the guy who sold me my textbooks a week before.

  • Macklemore wins Best Rap Album, students unhappy

    Date: 
    January 31, 2014 - 7:10am

    In case you missed it, Macklemore married a bunch of people at the Grammys, won four of his six nominations and apologized to Kendrick Lamar for taking Best Rap Album. The Clipper found out what the students think.

  • EvCC to host robotics competition

    Date: 
    January 15, 2014 - 12:52pm

    EvCC will be hosting an annual robotics competition on Saturday, Jan. 25 in Whitehorse from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Follow us @clipperonline!

More multimedia